2018 Baseball/Softball Season News

Training for the 2018 season:
ALL UMPIRES MUST Select a date/time from Each section below: Your game pay will be affected by your training attendance. Send the webmaster the dates you plan to attend

1. Umpire Information Meeting (30 minutes) - Pick One
  • Tues. Jan 23: 6:30 - 7:00pm
  • Sat. Jan. 27: 10:00 - 10:30am
  • Sun. Jan.28: 12:30 - 1:00pm
2. Test Distribution (30 minutes)  - Pick One
  • Tues. Feb. 13: 6:30 - 7:00pm
  • Sat. Feb. 17: 12:00 - 12:30pm
3. Test Review: (2 hours) - Pick One
  • Sunday Feb. 25: 12:30 - 2:30pm
  • Tues. Feb. 27: 6:30 - 8:30pm

4. Video Training (2 hours) - Pick One

  • Mon. March 5: 6:30 - 8:30pm

  • Tues. March 6: 6:30 - 8:30pm

5. On Field Training (Plate) - Pick One

  • Sat. March 17: 9:30 - 11:00am

  • Sat. March 24: 9:30 - 11:00am

6. On Field Training (Field) - Pick One

  • Sun. March 18: 12:30 - 2:00pm

  • Sun. March 25: 12:30 - 2:00pm

7. Softball On Field Training

  • Sat. March 17: 12:00 - 1:30pm

  • Sat. March 24: 12:00 - 1:30pm

8. Practice Games: PICK TWO (2)

  • Fri. March 30: 6pm 

  • Sat. March 31: 10am , 12pm, 2pm or 4pm

  • Mon. April 2: 6pm

  • Tues. April 3: 6pm

  • Wed. April 4: 6pm

  • Thurs. April 5: 6pm

Pay Periods are listed below: Pay day is every other Friday and includes a 2 week period ending the previous Sunday. (Ex: 1st pay day is Friday April 13 for games from March 26 - April 8) Please see the Umpire Supervisor or Director on Duty for your paycheck. 


BAA Umpire Committee: Chris Cordingley (SB UIC), Rob Cowell, John Hernandez, Pat Murphy (BB UIC), Jason Neal, Ted Repp, Jake Winders and Judy Young 

BAA Umpire Program Overview

Ballwin Athletic Association's umpire program is run by members of the Board of Directors.


Minimum age 13


All umpires new to umpiring and/or to the association are required to attend the testing and training sessions prior to each season. Testing and training for the Spring/Summer season is held in late February and early March. Testing and training for the Fall season is held at the end of July. BAA does accept experienced umpires throughout each season.


All umpires are ranked by age group that they are qualified to umpire. Qualifications and influence of ranking include:

  • NEW THIS YEAR: Game pay will be dependent on Training attendance for ALL umpires
  • Knowledge of the rules
  • On field performance (positioning, presence, form, handling of situations
  • Promptness (to ball park and to field)
  • Being respectful at all times (to managers, supervisors, other all times)
  • Neatness (uniform and umpire room)
  • Age of umpire

All umpires who wish to umpire at BAA must have a registration form on file. Please see the form attached to this page.


If you have any questions you may contact the webmaster at


The umpire committee thanks you. Chris Cordingley (SB UIC), John Hernandez, Pat Murphy (BB UIC), Jason Neal, Ted Repp and Judy Young

BAA Uniform Supplies

An annually updated phone list and instructional cover sheet will be available at the ball park for all umpires. Most of your responsibilities are listed and you are expected to be aware of them.


As always, Field 1 and 2 umpires should wear gray pants. Fields 3, 4, 5 and 6 umpires should wear dark blue, black or gray pants or shorts. All umpires- dark blue or black hat, umpire shirt and bag with clicker and brush. NO WHITE SHOES.


BAA's umpire program includes non-refundable fees:

  • Shirt:  $20.00 (powder blue BAA shirt)
  • Hat:    $8.00    (BAA hat optional - you may purchase your own elsewhere if so desired - dark blue or black only)
  • Bag with clicker/plate brush:  $7.00 (optional - you may purchase your own elsewhere if so desired)
  • Rule Books: BAA will supply